Photo

iPhone 4s @IOS 5.1.1 - unable to restore to 5.1.1 (redsn0w)

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

agony

agony
  • 4 Posts
  • iDevice:iPhone 4S
  • Firmware:5.1.1
Guys,
I'm rather new to the jailbreak stuff... anyway,I successfully did it on 5.0, 5.1 and 5.1.1.
Now, my 4s is showing strange behaviour sometimes (newly installed Apps start, after a day they don't start any more), so I'm thinking of a new clean re-install of IOS 5.1.1. I think that strange behaviour started when I installed protect my privacy, I removed it but the starting problems persist.
However, I worked my way through various HowTo's and Youtube-Vids giving me a good idea what it's about using redsn0w.

What do i have:
- I saved the SHSH-Blobs using Tiny Umbrella. They are also avail via Cydia. (IOS 5.0, 5.1, 5.1.1 - verified with redsn0w)
- I got the IOS restore-Files for IOS 5.1.1 (and 6.0)
- I got the latest version of redsn0w (09.14.b2)
- forgot my changed root-PW,so had to reset it to default (alpine, checked with Mobile Terminal)

What's the problem:
- redsn0w does not give the option to use local blobs instead of remote
- when starting the IPSW restore, everything goes fine, it gets the blobs, stitches the IPSW, puts the phone into recovery mode and then it just quits with an error window giving no text. Just a yellow triangle with the exclamation mark.

Questions:
- Is there a way to "force" redsnow to use local blobs? The field cannot be selected... where do I need to copy the SHSHs to for redsn0w to find it?
- Any idea what may cause the IPSW installation abort? There is no error code given...
- Already tried to start redsn0w as Admin, did not solve the problem (Win 7, 64bit, latest patches)

Your assistance would be very much appreciated.
Don't want to upgrade to IOS 6... or would that be an option? Update to IOS6 using iTunes, then restore to 5.1.1 using redsn0w? But from my current understanding it should be possible to restore IOS 5.1.1 to 5.1.1 with redsn0w....